Highlights of the Buma Awards 2024

Licentie Highlights of the Buma Awards 2024

During the Buma Awards, held this year at the International Theater Amsterdam, composers, lyricists, and their music publishers were celebrated with Buma Awards across various categories.

The Buma Awards, both National and International, honor the composers and lyricists of the most played and best-selling singles of 2023. In addition to these popularity awards, several jury awards are presented annually. For instance, the Lennaert Nijgh Award is awarded to the best lyricist, and the Buma Gouden Harp recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Dutch music throughout their careers.

Thomas Acda receives Lennaert Nijgh Award

This year, Thomas Acda has been honored with the Lennaert Nijgh Award. Acda is praised for his versatility, musically navigating between cabaret and pop music. But he is more than a musician, singer, and guitarist. He is also a comedian, actor, director, novelist, TV star, and… songwriter. Nick Schilder presented him with the award and addressed him with a poem full of praise and admiration.

Within Temptation honored with Lifetime Achievement Award

During the annual Buma Awards ceremony, Within Temptation received a Lifetime Achievement Award from Dennis Weening. The band, active for nearly three decades, has released eight studio albums, selling millions worldwide. Throughout the years, Within Temptation has continually reinvented themselves, remaining innovative in a genre they helped create.

For the first time since the inception of the Buma Awards, the Lifetime Achievement Award has been given to a band. Within Temptation is a remarkable group, considered the foremost and most successful pioneer of dark, melodic metal, enriched with symphonic elements such as orchestral arrangements and choir parts.

The band undeniably provided the blueprint for a unique metal genre, which has inspired many and brought the sextet significant success far beyond their home country.

Stiekem by Maan ft. Goldband tops National Top 20

“Stiekem” by Maan ft. Goldband is the most successful song of 2023, sitting at the top of the National Top 20. The track was written by Maan de Steenwinkel, Karel Gerlach, Boaz Kok, Milo Driessen, Wieger Hoogendorp, and Arno Krabman.

Tiësto holds Top 2 spots in International Top 20

Tiësto is once again dominating the International Top 20, claiming the number one spot with “10:35” ft. Tate McRae and the number two spot with “Lay Low”.

Arno Krabman major winner at the 2024 Buma Awards

Arno Krabman was called to the stage no less than six times on Monday to receive a Buma Award. In addition to holding the number 1 and 2 positions, he is also featured at number 8 (Suzan & Freek with “Slapeloosheid”), number 15 (Claude with “Layla”), number 16 (“Morgen Wordt Fantastisch” by Acda en de Munnik), and number 17 (“Automatisch” by Flemming).